立即注册

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

扫一扫,访问微社区

查看: 83|回复: 0

[GRE阅读] GRE阅读辅导:部分关键句91-100英文原文

[复制链接]
发表于 2012-8-15 13:05:25 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
  以下是历年gre真题考试阅读部分出现的句子,这些句子往往是解题的关键,所以对于这些句子的理解就显得十分重要。考生可以用这些句子做英译中的练习,加强语感练习。
- Q( d3 _+ z7 v6 d) P. t8 Z  91. As an author, I am naturally concerned that a surprisingly large percentage of the population of the United States is functionally illiterate; if they can’t read or cannot understand what they read, they won’t buy books, or this magazine.% L$ Y2 N" J8 X4 J2 n! l7 k3 o
  92. They do not know those parts of the doctrine which explain and justify the remainder ; the considerations which show that a fact which seemingly conflicts with another is reconcilable with it, or that, of two apparently strong reasons, one and not the other ought to be preferred.  ^. o6 U- h0 q, f; ~
  93. Quite apart from the logistic problems, there existed a well-established tradition in Britain which refused to repatriate against their will people who found themselves in British hands and the nature of whose reception by their own government was, to say the least, dubious.
& L+ u9 b/ e2 |/ ~8 O$ n! x0 d  94. An obsession with the exact privileges of a colonial legislature and the precise extent of Britain’s imperial power, the specifics of a state constitution and the absolute necessity of a federal one, all expressed this urge for a careful articulation as proof that the right relationship with external powers did indeed prevail.4 ~6 |* W0 L2 D$ U+ A, J2 w5 O* G* T
  95. One encyclopaedia tells us that intelligence is related to the ability to learn, to the speed with which things are learned, to how well and how long ideas are remembered, to the ability to understand those ideas and use them in problem-solving, and to creativity.8 L4 I4 R& x9 S